The Origin of Jelly

Jelly is a quite peculiar food, in fact, most of the time it is usually handled as a dessert and although there are people who really enjoy eating it, there are others who only eat it. They consume when they are in need to, which can be when they are sick to the stomach since it is a fairly easy food to digest and does not cause any harm or irritation, or also for people who undergo treatments such as tummy tuck in Tijuana, where it is necessary that they follow a strict diet for the prompt recovery of the procedure and that there is no type of subsequent problem. Also in some cases people visit dentists in Tijuana and undergo some type of treatment that can leave the denture a little sensitive and therefore chewing can be somewhat difficult to consume food, it is in these situations mainly where people consume gelatin, Although as already mentioned, there are also many other people who consume this food for the simple fact that they like it. 

Something that we can all agree on is that gelatin is a quite original dish, from its consistency to its flavor, so it can be very interesting to know what its origin is. For starters, it is important to mention the origin of the gelatin can be quite different from what we came to imagine. Unlike what many may think, gelatin is not a vegan food, since among its ingredients it includes animal remains, since it is made up of 90% collagen which comes from animal bones and tendons, the rest of ingredients that compose it are water and mineral salts. 

The origin of gelatin dates back 3,500 years ago, with the Egyptian civilization, which is where the first indications of this dish can be found. However in more recent times, to be precise 1682, it was in France where a man known as Papín discovered the way to cook animal bones to transform them into a slimy substance. Also around the same time in Japan, a man discovered by Minoya Tarozaemon managed to develop a formula by which algae-based jellies could be cooked, which became quite popular in Asia. These algae are also cultivated in northern Europe, where they are known as “Irish Moss” and are used to make carrageenan, another substance with a gelatinous consistency.  

Unfortunately, gelatin as we know it today and the one that is produced industrially and is sold in large quantities in the markets, either in box presentation to prepare at home or in ready-made plastic containers, is the one that was discovered in Paris, France and that among its ingredients includes animal remains. It is true that there are some vegan options, such as the aforementioned seaweed jelly, however, these are not as easy to acquire as those that include animal remains. 

Jelly is a very rich dessert that all people enjoy and that we have eaten at some time in our lives, we cannot deny the peculiarity of its consistency and flavor, one of the most original dishes that exist without a doubt.